MIEFF 2018

MIEFF 2017 was held on July 20 - 23 at Electrotheatre Stanislavsky and GARAGE museum of contemporary art
69
5000
SUBMISSIONS
7000
FILMS FROM 23 COUNTRIES
PEOPLE IN 5 DAYS

PROGRAMME 2018

JURY

Alisa Prudnikova
Alisa Prudnikova is an art critic, curator, director of regional development of ROSIZO-NCCA, commissioner and artistic director of the Ural Industrial Biennial of Contemporary Art. One of the leading experts in Russia in regional art and art industries. From 2005 to 2016 she headed the Ural Branch of the National Centre for Contemporary Arts, and during this time Yekaterinburg became one of the most important centers of contemporary art in Russia and entered into many Russian and foreign ratings as one of the most creative cities in Russia. In 2016 Prudnikova became a member of the board of the International Biennial Association (IBA), which includes world's leading biennials. She is a member of ICOM and AICA associations. She is two-time winner of "Innovation", national award in the field of contemporary art.
Kevin B. Lee
Kevin B. Lee is a US-born, Germany-based filmmaker, artist and critic. Over the last ten years, he has produced over 360 video essays exploring film and media. His award-winning "desktop documentary" Transformers: The Premake played in several festivals, including the Berlin Film Festival Critics Week. In 2017 he was the first-ever Artist in Residence of the Harun Farocki Institut in Berlin. He is Professor of Crossmedia Publishing at the Merz Akademie, Stuttgart. His video work can be found at https://www.alsolikelife.com.
Ekaterina Lazareva
She was born in Moscow, graduated from Russian State University for Humanities, faculty of art history and Rodchenko Moscow School of Photography and Multimedia. Artist, curator, PhD in history of art. Specialist in Italian futurism, senior researcher at the State Institute of Art. She taught at Rodchenko School, Russian State University for Humanities, Higher School of Economics in Moscow. As an independent curator, she established Moscow Mayakovsky Festival, supervised Russian section of the First Prague Biennale, exhibitions Zones of Visibility, Photo of the future and the others. She is currently the curator of Garage Museum of Contemporary Art.

how it was

AWARD WINNERS

Main Prize
Room with a coconut view

Thailand| 2018 | 28 min
Tulapop Saenjaroen

A tour guide and also a hotel rep automated voice, Kanya, leads her foreign guest, Alex, through a beach town in the east of Thailand called Bangsaen. Since Kanya's presentation is overtly aestheticized and strictly regimented, Alex decides to explore the town by himself, fantasizing to get out of the frame.
Kodak Film Prize
Sunstone
Portugal / France | 2018 | 34 min
Louis Henderson, Filipa César

The film tracks Fresnel lenses from their site of production to their exhibition in a museum of lighthouses and navigational devices. It also examines the diverse social contexts in which optics are implicated, contrasting the system of triangular trade that followed the first European arrivals in the 'New World' with the political potential seen in Op art in post-revolutionary Cuba. Incorporating 16mm celluloid images, digital desktop captures and 3D CGI, the film also maps a technological trajectory: from historical methods of optical navigation to new algorithms of locating, from singular projection to multi-perspectival satellitic visions. Registering these technical advances progressively through the film's materials and means of production, Sunstone creates "a cinema of affect, a cinema of experience — an Op- Film."
SPECIAL JURY MENTION
Ultima Ratio Δ Mountain of the Sun
Canada / Lebanon | 2017 | 13 min
Bahar Noorizadeh

Cinema devolved into the slow-motion industry: spectacles repeat. Ultima Ratio speeds up by slowing down the image-fix. Traversing the crime-enriched Bekaa valley, the camera uncovers the age-old industries of hashish, models for altering what we see.

MIEFF 2018

MIEFF 2018 состоялся 26–30 сентября. Площадками стали Музей современного искусства "ГАРАЖ", Электротеатр Станиславский, Центр документального кино, Дом кино, Новое пространство Театра Наций.
69
5000
ЗАЯВОК НА УЧАСТИЕ В КОНКУРСНОЙ ПРОГРАММЕ
7000
ФИЛЬМОВ ИЗ 23 СТРАН МИРА
ЗРИТЕЛЕЙ ЗА 5 ДНЕЙ
Программа 2018

Жюри

Алиса Прудникова
Алиса Прудникова – искусствовед, куратор, директор по региональному развитию РОСИЗО-ГЦСИ, комиссар и художественный руководитель Уральской индустриальной биеннале современного искусства. Один из ведущих специалистов в России по региональному искусству и арт-индустриям. С 2005 по 2016гг. Руководила Уральским филиалом Государственного центра современного искусства, за это время Екатеринбург стал одним из важнейших центров современного искусства в России и вошел в множество российских и зарубежных рейтингов как один из главных креативных центров страны. В 2016 году Прудникова стала членом правления Всемирной биеннальной ассоциации (IBA), куда входят ведущие биеннале мира, является членом ассоциаций ICOM и AICA. Дважды лауреат национальной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация».
Кевин Б. Ли
Кевин Б. Ли - американский кинематографист, художник и критик, проживающий в данный момент в Германии. За последние 10 лет он создал более 360 видео-эссе, исследующих кино и медиа. Его отмеченный наградами документальный desktop-фильм "Трансформеры: предварительная подготовка" был показан на нескольких фестивалях, включая "Неделю критики" Берлинале. В 2017 году он стал первым в истории художником в резиденции Института Харуна Фароки в Берлине. Кевин - профессор Академии Мерц в Штутгарте, где он читает курс "Кроссмедийное издательское дело". Видео Кевина можно посмотреть на его сайте: https://www.alsolikelife.com.
Екатерина Лазарева
Родилась в Москве, окончила факультет Истории искусства РГГУ и Московскую школу фотографии и мультимедиа имени А. Родченко. Художник, куратор, кандидат искусствоведения. Исследователь итальянского футуризма, старший научный сотрудник Государственного института искусствознания. Преподавала в Школе Родченко, РГГУ, ВШЭ. В качестве независимого куратора инициировала Московский Фестиваль Маяковского, курировала российский отдел 1-й Пражской биеннале, выставки «Зоны видимости», «Фотография будущего» и др. В настоящий момент куратор Музея Современного Искусства «Гараж».

Как это было

Победители

Главный приз
Таиланд | 2018 | 28 мин
Тулапоп Саеньяроен

Канья, гид и голос автоответчика в отеле, сопровождает иностранного гостя Алекса в пляжном городке Бангсен на востоке Тайланда. Так как Канья придерживается откровенно эстетизированной и строго регламентированной манеры изложения, Алекс решает исследовать город самостоятельно, мечтая выбраться за навязанные границы.
Специальный приз компании Kodak
Португалия / Франция | 2018 | 34 мин
Луис Хендерсон, Филипа Сезар

Фильм о линзах Френеля прослеживает путь от места их производства до выставок в музеях маяков и навигационных устройств. Он исследует разные социальные контексты, в которых задействована оптика, сопоставляя системы трёхсторонней торговли, возникшей после открытия европейцами Нового Света, с политическим потенциалом оп-арта в постреволюционной Кубе. Объединяя 16-миллиметровые кадры пленки, цифровые изображения рабочего стола компьютера и трёхмерную компьютерную графику, фильм прослеживает траекторию технологического развития: от методов оптической навигации прошлых лет до новых алгоритмов локализации, от единичной проекции до мультиперспективного спутникового наблюдения. Постепенно фиксируя эти технические достижения с помощью материалов и средств производства фильма, «Солнечный камень» создает «кино аффекта, кино опыта — оп-фильм».
Специальное упоминание жюри
Канада / Ливан | 2017 | 13 мин
Бахар Нооризаде

Кино превратилось в индустрию замедленной съёмки: все зрелища повторяют друг друга. Но «Решительный аргумент» ускоряется: пересекая средоточие криминала, долину Бекаа, камера обнаруживает места многолетнего производства гашиша, модели изменения нашего видения.